#262 – Crosby, Stills & Nash – Crosby, Stills & Nash

0262

Next we have the debut of Crosby, Stills & Nash.  The 1969 release hit #6 on the Billboard Top Pop Albums chart, with two top thirty charting singles.  The album also won the band the Best New Artist Grammy Award fro 1970.

Sara

I listened to this one with Athena and she told me to just put that this album was boring and move on. It’s not a bad suggestion, really. The only song I was remotely interested in on this album is the first track, “Suite: Judy Blue Eyes.” It’s a play on words and it worked on me—I’ve always thought it was “Sweet Judy Blue Eyes.” It was written about Stephen Stills’ girlfriend Judy Collins, who is an activist and singer known for the very annoying “Send In The Clowns.” 

 
It’s getting to the point 
Where I’m no fun anymore
I am sorry
Sometimes it hurts so badly
I must cry out loud
I am lonely
I am yours, you are mine
You are what you are
And you make it hard
Remember what we’ve said and done and felt 
About each other
Oh babe, have mercy
Don’t let the past remind us of what we are not now
I am not dreaming.
I am yours, you are mine
You are what you are
And you make it hard
Tearing yourself away from me now
You are free and I am crying
This does not mean I don’t love you
I do, that’s forever, yes and for always
I am yours, you are mine
You are what you are
And you make it hard
Something inside is telling me that 
I’ve got your secret. Are you still listening?
Fear is the lock, and laughter the key to your heart
And I love you.
I am yours, you are mine, you are what you are
And you make it hard,
And you make it hard
 

This album really didn’t do it for me. The best song was fine, but the rest was pretty boring. Since it’s the debut and brought the band to fame and success, I take partial responsibility for not being enamored with it, as I was not giving this pass my all, but at the same time it didn’t really keep my attention. The vocals were the most impressive thing and I’d listen again, but wouldn’t seek it out.

Steve

This was certainly a tale of a two-sided album.  The first half of the album was decent.  “Suite: Judy Blue Eyes” is a great song, and I was looking forward to the rest of this album.  The only other song I had heard before was “Marrakesh Express.”  Marrakesh is the second single released from the album, and reached #28 on the Billboard charts.

Graham Nash wrote “Marrakesh Express” while he was still a member of The Hollies.  Nash had traveled to Morocco and took a train from Casablanca to Marrakesh.  The song describes his experiences when he decided to leave the “boring” first class cabin and experience how the real people traveled.

Looking at the world through the sunset in your eyes
Traveling the train through clear Moroccan skies
Ducks and pigs and chickens call
Animal carpet wall to wall
American ladies five-foot tall in blue

Sweeping cobwebs from the edges of my mind
Had to get away to see what we could find
Hope the days that lie ahead
Bring us back to where they’ve led
Listen not to what’s been said to you

Wouldn’t you know we’re riding on the Marrakesh Express
Wouldn’t you know we’re riding on the Marrakesh Express
They’re taking me to Marrakesh
All aboard the train, all aboard the train

I’ve been saving all my money just to take you there
I smell the garden in your hair

Take the train from Casablanca going south
Blowing smoke rings from the corners of my mouth
Colored cottons hang in the air
Charming cobras in the square
Striped djellebas we can wear at home Well, let me hear you now

Wouldn’t you know we’re riding on the Marrakesh Express
Wouldn’t you know we’re riding on the Marrakesh Express
They’re taking me to Marrakesh

Wouldn’t you know we’re riding on the Marrakesh Express
Wouldn’t you know we’re riding on the Marrakesh Express
They’re taking me to Marrakesh
All on board the train, all on board the train
All on board

 

The next three songs are decent, but nothing special.  The second side of this album was a complete snoozefest.  Thank god I had coffee with me while I was driving and listening to this, because it instantly made me tired.  It was twenty minutes of bizarre lullabies that ran together and were frankly awful.

This album peaked after two songs, and I really expected better.

Leave a Reply

